Latest Entries »

Cooking Sites

All Recipes: http://www.allrecipes.cm/?srt=1326917651148&refurl=

Food Network: http://www.foodnetwork.com/

Meals: http://www.meals.com/

Food Fit: http://www.foodfit.com/

Food: http://www.food.com/

My Recipes: http://www.myrecipes.com/

Kraft Recipes: http://www.kraftrecipes.com/home.aspx

 

As promised here is some more information on what BMI is. BMI is short for body max index. It is a calculated number that is used as a screening tool to identify possibilities of a weight problem.

BMI is NOT a diagnostic tool. It is a very small part of figuring out if there is a weight problem. BMI is a popular way to measure body fatness because it’s one of the less expensive way and just about anyone could do it. You don’t even need the “Health O Meter-The Doctor Scale”  to tell you.  All you have to do is take your weight(lb)/[height (in)(squared)] x 703. For example lets say your weight is 150lbs and your height is 5’5″. You take [150 / (65)squared] x 703 and that equals 24.96.

You ask is 24.96 good? A standard weight status for adults (anyone above 20) is:

BMI                     Weight Status 

under 18.5           Underweight

18.5 – 24.9                  Normal

25.0-29.9                Overweight

20.00 – Above          Obese

So the answer is it would be normal, but barely. BMI is a pretty reliable way to give you an insight if there is a weight problem. The formula and chart I told you today is only for adults above 20. There is a whole different way to calculate for children. They consider the sex, weight, and height. 

Want  more information about body max index? Here is a great link…

http://www.cdc.gov/healthyweight/assessing/bmi/adult_bmi/index.html

It was that time of the week. My weigh in day. I didn’t work out at all this week. Every time I had said I was going to work out something always came up. I need just to get up and do it first thing in the mornings. Mornings are always the busiest time for me. Seeing Bryson off to school, seeing hubby off to work, feeding Carly that by the time I think about it something else is going on. When do you work out? What time of the day to find is best? Well, I need to just get it over with. I stepped on the scale and this is what it told me….

My weight last week was 288.  Here are my stats

Weight: 284.6 (down -3.4)

BMI: 48.6

Body Fat Percent: 61.7%

Hydration: 27.9%

My daily calorie intake: 2523

I should reach my goal in 85 weeks.

I want to lose 80 pounds by May. My ultimate goal is to lose 138 pounds. Although I didn’t lose the 5 I wanted too, I lost 3.4. That’s better than nothing!   Lets see if I can lose the 5 pounds this week and workout 3 times this week? What are your goals for the week?

I am going down this dark scary road called weight loss. We all have been there at some point in our life. It’s no fun, but needed. What’s the one thing that you need to do this? A good scale! I found one that I love. It’s my record keeping buddy. What do I mean by that? This scale does a lot more than a “typical” scale. What’s the name of this magical scale you ask; it’s the Health O Meter: The Doctor’s Scale.

It keeps records for up to four different users and stores their last five weigh-ins. You can also tell it weight your weight loss goal is. The scale keeps track of your weight and body fat percentage for the last five weigh-ins. At each weigh-in it will tell you your BMI, Hydration Level, Body Fat Percentage, you Daily Calorie Intake and how many weeks it would take you to lose the weight healthy. Having it in Athlete mode will account for the muscle mass when figuring out these details.  Knowing all these details about your body will help you in your weight loss journey, and having the scale takes all the hard work out for you. Well at least for knowing where you are at in your journey. You still got to do the no fun part of it: eating healthy and exercising. But you can do it!

Outside of it telling you all these factors it also looks stylish. It has a tempered glass platform that will hold up to 400 pounds. Although it doesn’t look that sturdy believe me it is! I was very surprised at how sturdy it felt to me.   The display is large enough and bright enough that it makes it really easy to you.

I would recommend anybody that is going down their own weight loss journey to get this scale. It will help you out a lot.

Want to know why knowing your BMI, Body Fat, Hydration Level, and why it’s good to have a daily caloric intake is a good idea keep an eye out for upcoming posts. I will tell you each week what this magical scale tells me!

March Giveaway/Events

LUCK OF THE IRISH GIVEAWAY HOP 3/1-17

http://www.mamadoesitall.com/

SPRING FASHIONISTA GIVEAWAY EVENT 3/2-7

http://stillblondeafteralltheseyears.com/

LUCKY DAY SWEEPSTAKES EVENT 3/13-30

http://sasonandpobi.com/(83 blogs)

LEAP FROG LEAP PAD GIVEAWAY  3/11-25

http://www.runningafterraina.blogspot.com/

MONEY MANIA   3/1-17

http://cheapisthenewclassy.com/

LUCK O’ THE IRISH CASH GIVEAWAY   3/10-16

http://centsablecouponlady.com/wp/

POT O’ GOLD CASH GIVEAWAY 3/1-7

http://formulamom.com/

March Moola Madness Giveaway Hop 3/19-4/2

http://formulamom.com/

SPRING CLEANING GIVEAWAY HOP 3/10-24

http://mamanyc.net/

SPRING BUZZ GIVEAWAY HOP 3/21-27

http://bayareamommy.com/

Useful Site/Blogs On Starting A Blog: 
Sadie Lankford- http://sadielankford.com/

Simply Stacie- http://www.simplystacie.net/

Cute Ecakes- http://www.cute-ecakes.com/

Adventures of My Family of 8- http://adventuresofmyfamilyof8.blogspot.com/

Makobi Scribe- http://makobiscribe.com/

Blog Guide Book- http://www.blogguidebook.com/

Planet Weidknect- http://www.weidknecht.com/

Mama NYC – http://mamanyc.net/

*Keep an eye out! I will add to this as I stumble upon new sites!

Medical Sites:

Web MD- http://www.webmd.com/

I Health Spot- http://www.ihealthspot.com/

Mayo Clinic- http://www.mayoclinic.com/

Drugs- http://www.drugs.com/

Every Day Health- http://www.everydayhealth.com/

IVillige Health- http://www.ivillage.com/health

Med Terms- http://www.medterms.com/script/main/hp.asp

Medscape- http://www.medscape.com/

Medline Plus – http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

 

*Keep an eye out! I will add to this as I stumble upon new sites!

Coupon Sites:

Coupons- http://www.coupons.com/ 

Smart Source- http://smartsource.com/smartsource/index.jsp?Link=MKRU3JAAR6CCY 

Red Plum- http://www.redplum.com/

Almost Crazy Coupon Lady- http://www.almostcrazycouponlady.com/?p=355

Free Hot Samples- http://www.freehotsamples.com/

Life in Texas-http://life-in-tx.blogspot.com/

Raining Hot Coupons- http://www.raininghotcoupons.com/

*Keep an eye out! These sites will change as I stumble upon new sites!

Educational Sites: 

Jump Start- http://www.jumpstart.com/ 

Time 4 Learning- http://www.time4learning.com/index.htm

AACademy Homeschool-http://aacademyhomeschool.com/

Mama to 4 Blessings our Homeschool Blog- http://mamato3blessings.blogspot.com/

Fun Brain- http://www.funbrain.com/

Kids Know It- http://www.kidsknowit.com/

Nick Jr. – http://www.nickjr.com/

Scholastic- http://www.scholastic.com/home

Enchanted Learning- http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html

The Kidz Page – http://www.thekidzpage.com/

*Keep an eye out! These will change as I stumble upon new sites!

Blogs I Enjoy:

MyCreativerse- http://mycreativerse.com/

SadieBakes-http://sadiebakes.com

Sadie Lankford- http://sadielankford.com/

Formula Mom- http://formulamom.com/

Makobie Scribe-http://makobiscribe.com/

Almost Crazy Coupon Lady- http://www.almostcrazycouponlady.com/?p=355

Free Hot Samples- http://www.freehotsamples.com/

It’s Annoying- http://www.its-annoying.com/

Yes You Won- http://www.yesuwon.com/

The Greer Five-http://thegreerfive.com/

Sewing For Samuel- http://sewingforsamuel.blogspot.com/

Mama Crafts- http://mamacrafts.blogspot.com/

Love Hate Fitness –http://lovehatefitness.net

Southern Brittany- http://www.southernbritt.com/

Black, Divorced & Virtuous- http://blackdivorcedandvirtuous.blogspot.com/

Just Hers Boudoir- http://justhersboudoir.com/blog/

His & Hers Creative(the wedding blog)- http://hisandherscreative.com/blog/

AACademy Homeschool-http://aacademyhomeschool.com/

Forever Your Girls- http://www.foreveryourgirls.com/

Heavenly Savings- http://www.heavenlysavings.net/

I Cook Do you?- http://icookdoyou.blogspot.com/

Musings Of An Angry Housewife-http://musingsofanangryhousewife.wordpress.com/

Mommy and Me Giveaway- http://mommyandmegiveaways.com/

Gretas Day-http://www.gretasday.com/

Giveaway Blogdom- http://giveawayblogdom.com/

The Adventures of my Family of 8- http://adventuresofmyfamilyof8.blogspot.com/

Planet Weidknecht-http://www.weidknecht.com/

Heavenly Savings-http://www.heavenlysavings.net/

*Keep an eye out! These will change as I stumble upon new sites!